Partner Country

We are extremely glad to welcome Israel as our partner country at the 53rd Deutscher Historikertag 2020, since it finds itself at the center of existential historical and political conflicts of interpretation in a way few other countries do. In choosing Israel as our partner, we seek to underscore the special significance of the history of Israel and the Near East as a whole for the German and European scientific landscape.

View on Tel Aviv

Israel and its multi-ethnic society have profoundly affected the region and the often-contested historical space of the Near East. Since Antiquity, this region of the world has been closely connected with European and Near Eastern culture alike – and in myriad ways. As a partner country for scientific exchange, Israel hence offers exceptional potential and countless points of contact across all eras and sub-disciplines.

For historians in particular, however, such cooperation gains particular significance due to the special German-Israeli relationship resulting from the German responsibility for the Holocaust, among other things. Historical engagement with Israel and Jewish history is particularly called for in Germany. The city of Munich in particular is also connected with Israel in many ways. It was here Theodor Herzl planned to convene the first Zionist Congress in 1897, but failed because of the resistance of the German-Jewish community. The National Socialists later declared Munich the “Hauptstadt” of their movement, from which their anti-Semitic policy was to spread. While research centres on German history and culture have existed in Israel for decades, the first academic centre for Israel studies (ZIS) was created only in 2014, at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich.

Consulate General of Israel, Munich

Israeli historians have long been present at Historikertage, as have historical themes and issues relating to the Near East. We look forward to an intensified and fruitful intellectual exchange and lively discussions that can help to deepen our cultural and scientific relationships with Israel by offering new perspectives.

Consulate General of Israel, Munich

Partnerland

Mit Israel begrüßen wir auf dem 53. Deutschen Historikertages 2020 ein Partnerland, das wie wenige andere Länder im Zentrum existentieller historischer und politischer Deutungskämpfe steht. Mit dieser Wahl soll die besondere Bedeutung der Geschichte Israels und des Nahen Ostens insgesamt für die deutsche und europäische Wissenschaftslandschaft unterstrichen werden.

Blick auf Tel Aviv

Israel und seine multiethnische Gesellschaft haben die Region und den oft umkämpften historischen Raum des Nahen Ostens tief geprägt. Seit der Antike ist diese Weltregion in vielfältigen Verflechtungen mit der europäischen und nahöstlichen Kultur verbunden. Als wissenschaftliches Partnerland bietet Israel für alle Epochen und Teildisziplinen ein besonderes Potential und zahllose Anknüpfungspunkte.

Hinzu kommen – gerade für die Geschichtswissenschaft – die besonderen deutsch-israelischen Beziehungen, die sich nicht zuletzt aus der deutschen Verantwortung für den Holocaust ergeben. Eine historische Auseinandersetzung mit Israel und der jüdischen Geschichte ist in Deutschland besonders geboten. Auch die Stadt München ist in vielfältiger Weise mit Israel verbunden. Hier wollte Theodor Herzl 1897 den ersten Zionistenkongress einberufen, was jedoch am Widerstand der deutsch-jüdischen Gemeinschaft scheiterte. Die Nationalsozialisten erklärten später München zur „Hauptstadt“ ihrer Bewegung, von der aus sich ihre antisemitische Politik ausbreiten sollte. Während in Israel seit Jahrzehnten Zentren für die Erforschung der deutschen Geschichte und Kultur bestehen, wurde in Deutschland erst 2014 das erste akademische Zentrum für Israel-Studien (ZIS) an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München geschaffen.

Israelisches Generalkonsulat München

Israelische Historikerinnen und Historiker sind seit langem auf Historikertagen vertreten ebenso wie historische Themen des Nahen Ostens. Wir freuen uns auf einen intensivierten, fruchtbaren intellektuellen Austausch und lebendige Diskussionen, die mit neuen Perspektiven die kulturellen und wissenschaftlichen Beziehungen mit Israel vertiefen.

Israelisches Generalkonsulat München